Become a Mentor

Become a Game Changing Mentor

We’re enhancing our programs with a robust mentoring initiative! Beginning in 2023, mentors will be assigned to a mentee, grades 6-12. Our hope is that mentors and mentees will form meaningful, long-term relationships that positively impact academics, athletic pursuits, professional interests, and beyond.

Thanks in part to generous support from the HV3 Foundation, mentor/mentee groups will enjoy two First Tee sponsored outings per month. Meet-ups will consist of playdays at Charleston Area golf courses, off-course enrichment experiences, and just-for-fun fieldtrips that mentors are sure to enjoy as much as our kids.

Do I need to have golf experience?

Golf experience is not required, but mentor/mentee activities will include golf outings. If you don’t already play, we simply ask that you have an interest in learning. We know your mentee will enjoy giving you some pointers!

How often will I meet with my mentee?

We will host mentor/mentee events twice a month. We ask that you attend at least one activity per month. Attendance is required for select playdays and back-to-school shopping event.*

Sample Schedule
Dates subject to change. Mentors will be notified of changes via email.

Saturday, March 11, 2023 – TopGolf – Kickoff Event
*Saturday, March 25, 2023 – Wescott Golf Club – Golf Instruction & Team Building Games
Saturday, April 22, 2023 – Charleston Southern – Enrichment Presentation
Saturday, April 29, 2023 – Wescott Golf Club – Golf Instruction & Team Building Games
Saturday, May 6, 2023 – Escape Room Field Trip
Saturday, May 27, 2023 – Wescott Golf Club – Golf Instruction & Team Building Games
Thursday, June 22, 2023 – James Island County Park – Ropes Course Team Building
Wednesday, June 28, 2023 – Patriots Point Links – Golf Instruction & Team Building Games
Thursday, July 13, 2023 – College of Charleston – Campus Tour & Enrichment Activities
Monday, July 24, 2023 – Shadowmoss – Playday
*Saturday, August 5, 2023 – Back-to-School Shopping
Saturday, August 19, 2023 – TopGolf – Playday
Saturday, September 23, 2023 – Charleston Southern – Enrichment Presentation
Saturday, September 30, 2023 – Wescott Golf Club – Playday
Saturday, October 14, 2023 – Charleston Southern – Etiquette Class
Saturday, October 28, 2023 – Wescott Golf Club – Playday
Sunday, November 5, 2023 – Stono Ferry Golf Club – Instruction with College of Charleston Team
Saturday, November 18, 2023 – Wescott Golf Club – Playday
Saturday, December 2, 2023 – TopGolf – Playday
Saturday, December 9, 2023 – Wescott Golf Club – Playday

How long is a mentoring commitment?

We ask that you commit to 12 months of programming (12-24 activities) so that your mentee has ample opportunity to get to know you. Our hope is that you will enjoy mentoring so much that you’ll consider renewing your role year after year!

Will I need to transport my mentee to and from scheduled activities?

To ensure the safety of program participants, one-on-one interactions are not permitted. As such, First Tee – Greater Charleston will manage transportation for all mentees, and a staff member will be present at all mentor/mentee events to help facilitate activities.

Will I have an opportunity to spend time with my mentee outside of First Tee hosted meet-ups?

To ensure the safety of program participants, one-on-one interactions are not permitted.

Can I communicate with my mentee outside of First Tee hosted meet-ups?

Yes, you may call or email your mentee’s parent/guardian or an authorized First Tee staff member, and they can relay messages to your mentee. Direct communication (without parent/guardian involvement) is prohibited.

Become a Mentor

  • Step 1: Email [email protected] to learn more about the program.
  • Step 2: Complete a background check and online safesport training.
  • Step 3: Spend quality time with your mentee!

Program Sponsor

Become a Mentor in Charleston, SC